element_symbio

NAVIBUS

element_symbio

In Nantes, the Jules Vernes 2 powered by Symbio has been providing daily connections between the neighbourhoods of Port-Boyer and Petit-Port Facultés, on both sides of the Erdre river, since April 2018:

 

The first French river shuttle is fully fuelled by hydrogen, possesses a navigation license and is operated by the Public Transport Joint Corporation of the Agglomeration of Nantes (Semitan). It can make more than 250 trips per day.

 

With a 60 hour range (i.e. one week of operation without refuelling) and a 10-minute load time, the Jules Vernes 2 has the capacity to carry up to 24 passengers and 10 bicycles and has successfully replaced “La Mouette” (the Seagull), the electrically propelled catamaran that had to load twice a day to be operational.

Commissioning a hydrogen fuelled electric powered catamaran for regular passenger transport meant designing a hydrogen system with:

 

  • A completely new format: regulatory authorities imposed certain requirements, especially in terms of redundancy of systems)

 

  • Adapted to the energy needs of the vehicle

 

Symbio has met all these challenges:

 

  • By integrating a system whose robustness and reliability have been demonstrated: H2Motiv S, based on a 5 kW battery is already used in more than 250 Renault Kangoo ZE REH2 commercial vehicles.

 

  • Studies analysed the boat’s energy needs to adapt the hydrogen system. Developed by Symbio, it uses 2 autonomous H2MotivS of 5kW cells, which operate redundantly according to the requirements of the authorities. The cells power the boat’s engines and recharge the buffer batteries. Note that the residual heat from the cells is used to moderate cabin temperature.

By optimising the system in terms of yield, operating costs and the solution’s sustainability.

Thanks to Symbio’s Hydrogen Solution, Maxity’s fuel cell loads in only 3-4 minutes.

 

The lorry’s range is also multiplied by 2.5: during real conditions of use in summer and winter it shifts from 85 km when electrically operated to 250 km with the Symbio range extender, because the heat released by the cell is used to heat the lorry’s passenger compartment (the heating being turned on does not impact the range of the vehicle).

element_symbio

NAVIBUS

element_symbio

NAVIBUS : « Jules-Verne 2 »


A Nantes, le Jules Verne 2 powered by Symbio assure quotidiennement la liaison entre les quartiers de Port-Boyer et Petit-Port Facultés, sur les deux bords de l’Erdre, depuis avril 2018 :

 

Première navette fluviale full hydrogène de France avec un permis de navigation, exploitée par la Société d’économie mixte des transports en commun de l’agglomération nantaise (Semitan), elle peut effectuer plus de 250 trajets par jour.

 

Avec ses 60 heures d’autonomie (une semaine de fonctionnement sans ravitaillement) et son temps de recharge de 10 minutes seulement, le Jules Vernes 2, qui a la capacité de transporter jusqu’à 24 personnes et 10 vélos, a remplacé avantageusement « La Mouette », le catamaran à propulsion électrique qui devait, lui, se charger deux fois par jour pour être opérationnel.

Mettre en service un bateau de type catamaran électrique hydrogène pour le transport régulier de passagers supposait de concevoir un système hydrogène :

 

  • Totalement nouveau dans son format : les autorités de règlementation avaient certaines exigences, notamment en termes de redondance des systèmes)
  • Adapté aux besoins énergétiques du véhicule

Symbio a relevé tous ces défis :

 

  • En intégrant un système dont la robustesse et la fiabilité ont été démontrées : H2Motiv S, basé sur une pile de 5 kW – est déjà utilisé dans plus de 250 véhicules utilitaires Renault Kangoo ZE REH2.

 

  • En analysant, via des études, les besoins énergétiques du bateau afin d’y adapter le système hydrogène. Celui développé par Symbio utilise au final 2 piles H2MotivS de 5kW indépendantes, qui fonctionnent en redondance conformément aux exigences des autorités. L’énergie des piles alimentent les moteurs du bateau et rechargent des batteries tampons. A noter que la chaleur résiduelle des piles est utilisée pour tempérer la cabine.

 

  • En optimisant le système au niveau du rendement, du coût d’exploitation et de la durabilité de la solution.

Avec le Jules Vernes 2 propulsé par le système hydrogène Symbio, la Semitan exploite un bateau :

 

  • Qui bénéficie d’une grande autonomie, été comme hiver : le Jules Vernes 2 peut naviguer 60 heures avec un seul plein, soit 7 jours de fonctionnement. Produit de réaction entre l’oxygène et l’hydrogène, la chaleur dégagée par la pile est utilisée pour le confort de la cabine. Ainsi, l’autonomie du bateau est indépendante des conditions climatiques.

 

  • Qui se charge rapidement : 10 minutes suffisent